Media | - The Official Athletic Site of the University of Men's Rowing Team - Men's Rowing


Photo Credit: Benji Bear Photography

ACRA National Championship

May 28, 2016

Gainesville, GA  – On Thursday, May 26, the University of Michigan Men's Rowing Team travelled to Gainesville, Georgia to race at the ACRA National Championships.

Racing began on Saturday morning, when Michigan's single sculler placed third in his heat to advance to Sunday's Grand Final. In the final, the single placed sixth with a time of 8:13.505.

Racing in small boats continued with the heat of the Double, where UM's entry placed third and secured Lane 7 in the next day's final. On Sunday, the crew placed sixth with a time of 7:54.001.

The Pair, which won the squad's only gold medal at the Dad Vail Regatta earlier this month, placed third in their heat behind Dad Vail silver medalist Lafayette and Rochester. This progressed the crew to the repechage that afternoon, where they easily defeated Ohio State and advanced to the Grand Final, where they placed fifth.

Freshman racing began with the Freshman Lightweight 4, which won a close race in the heat by defeating Seattle by only 0.692 seconds. In the final, the crew was involved in a barnburner, with Seattle winning with a time of 7:07.136, only 0.293 ahead of the Wolverines, who were a mere 0.379 seconds ahead of bronze medalist UCSB.

The Freshman 4 looked to build on the team's first medal of the regatta, and advanced to the Grand Final with a second place finish in their heat. In the final, the crew won a bronze medal behind Rhode Island and Georgia Tech.

The top - seeded Freshman 8 defended their ranking by winning their heat with an easy 4.839 - second margin over perennial rival Virginia before an open water victory over Grand Valley in Sunday's final.

Certain events were undersubscribed, and required only a race for lanes rather than a heat. In the Second Varsity 4, Michigan's all - freshman crew placed third in their seeding heat, only 0.047 seconds behind second place UCSB. In the next day's final, the young crew led the field early before winning a silver medal, just over two seconds behind the winning Northwestern crew and less than one second ahead of the same UCSB crew that nipped the Wolverines in the race for lanes.

In the Quad's race for lanes, the crew placed second to Virginia. In the final, Michigan won a bronze medal behind the Cavaliers and George Mason.

The Lightweight 4, which contained three oarsmen from the 2015 National Champion crew, placed second in their heat behind Rhode Island. In the final, the crew won a silver medal, only 3.225 seconds behind the same crew.

The Varsity 4, which won a bronze medal at the Dad Vail Regatta, won their heat over UCSB easily to advance to Sunday's semifinal. In that race, the crew placed second to Georgia Tech to move on to the final, where they beat fourth place Rhode Island by 1.443 to win a bronze medal.

The Second Varsity 8 dominated their heat against Bucknell, winning by a tremendous 6.413 - second margin en route to an open water victory in Sunday's Grand Final.

The Varsity 8 won their heat over North Carolina by 2.453 seconds to advance to the semifinal, where they defeated UCSB by under a length to advance to the final that afternoon. In the Grand Final, the crew narrowly defeated UCSB with a time of 5:52.905, capturing Michigan's fourth consecutive Varsity 8 title.

The wins in the big boats helped secure Michigan's ninth consecutive Men's Team Points Trophy, with the team finishing over 100 points ahead of UCSB. Despite not having any women entered, the squad placed second in the Overall Team Points Trophy. UM also grabbed the Men's Small Boats Trophy, and placed second in the Men's Improvement Trophy.

The squad will return to Ann Arbor, where the Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8 will continue training before leaving for the Henley Royal Regatta in Henley - on - Thames, England on June 19.




   1st Varsity 8    2nd Varsity 8    1st Varsity 4    Varsity Lightweight 4   Varsity Quad
   C - Demi Shanahan    C - Chelsea Tistle    C - John Houghton    C - Esther Yang   S - Mike Griffin
   S - Alex Brown    S - Ben Sonnega    S - Tyler Simpson    S - Andrew Barber   3 - Spencer Price
   7 - William Burstein    7 - Jake Presto    3 - Toby Buth    3 - Steve Sikora   2 - Nathan Morningstar
   6 - Damian Rotarov    6 - Jordan Shore    2 - Garrett Klumpar    2 - Sahil Desai   B - Andrew Cronin
   5 - Mitchell Tyson    5 - Colin Darnton    B - Ben Getz    B - Jordan Sykes  
   4 - Alika Ziker    4 - Phil Faris        
   3 - Ian McGraw    3 - Lake Vitton        
   2 - Ben Rebertus    2 - Lucien Gerondeau        
   B - Grey Braybrooks    B - James Garay        

   Varsity Pair    Varsity Double    Varsity Single     
   S - Levi Godin    S - Alex Coletta    William Denman     
   B - Lyle Antieau    B - Steven Fegan