Media | - The Official Athletic Site of the University of Men's Rowing Team - Men's Rowing


Gold Medal Pair (Left to Right): Lyle Antieau, Levi Godin

Dad Vail Regatta

May 13, 2016

Philadelphia, PA  – On Wednesday, May 11, the University of Michigan Men's Rowing Team travelled to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to compete in the Dad Vail Regatta. The squad managed to put nine crews in Grand Finals, five of which won medals, including a gold medal from the Varsity Pair. This gave Michigan its first Men's Team Points Trophy since 2014.

Due to predictions for inclement weather, the regatta schedule was shifted to allow for the Varsity 8 to race first. The crew won their Friday morning heat over Cincinnati to advance to the semifinals on Saturday morning, where they defeated Army with a time of 5:49.105. In the Grand Final, racing for the Richard O'Brien Trophy, the crew placed a distant fourth, 12.699 seconds behind winner FIT and 2.473 seconds behind bronze medalist Temple. The loss marked the first time since 2013 that UM had not medaled in the event.

The Second Varsity 8 dominated ACRA rival Bucknell in their Friday heat to advance to semifinals on Saturday, where they fell to Drexel by 2.465 seconds. In that afternoon's Grand Final, racing for the Ernie Bayer Trophy, the crew won a bronze medal, finishing in a time of 6:39.908.

The Third Varsity 8 event was a recent addition to the regatta, and UM's entry placed second to Delaware in their semifinal to advance to the Grand Final on Saturday. The boat finished fourth, only 4.902 seconds out of bronze medal position.

Big boat racing continued with the Freshman 8. The Wolverines won their heat over Grand Valley by open water before a 1.986 – second victory in the semifinal progressed the crew to the Grand Final. Racing for the Toby Wallace Bowl, the frosh won a bronze medal, finishing in a time of 6:52.063.

Another newly – added event to the regatta was the Second Freshman 8. With only five entries, the event was run as a straight final, with Michigan's entry finishing fourth in a time of 7:30.707.

Some of the squad's best results came in the small boats. The Freshman 4 won one of the team's closest contests of the weekend, defeating Delaware in their heat by 0.085 seconds. The crew proceeded to defeat Villanova in the semifinal before winning a silver medal in the Grand Final, 8.018 seconds away from capturing the Lindy Cup.

The Varsity 4, recently changed due to injury, won Friday's 1900 – meter Time Trial in a time of 6:01.756, giving them the top seed in the next day's semifinal. On Saturday, the crew defeated Drexel by over five seconds to advance to the Grand Final. In the race for the Thomas A. Curran Cup, the four won a bronze medal with a time of 7:03.860.

Three of the five members of last year's Lightweight 4 that won a bronze medal at the regatta returned to the event with the intent of winning another medal. The crew placed second in their heat before winning their semifinal and moving on to the race for the James J. Lynch Trophy. In the Grand Final, the crew placed fourth, missing a bronze medal by only 0.495 seconds.

Michigan also entered two single sculls, which were the squad's only crews to be eliminated before reaching the Grand Final. The team's A – Entry placed fourth in his heat, while the B – Entry placed second in his heat to advance to the semifinals, where he placed sixth.

The Wolverines' only win of the regatta came from the Varsity Pair, who won the 1900 – meter Time Trial handily before defeating Drexel in their semifinal by 4.231 seconds. In the Grand Final, racing for the Bob Negaard Cup, the pair sprinted away from the field to capture an open water victory. The win marked Michigan's first medal in the event, and helped propel the squad to its second Men's Team Points Trophy in three years.

The team will return to Ann Arbor and continue training before leaving for the ACRA National Championships in Gainesville, Georgia on Thursday, May 26.




   1st Varsity 8    2nd Varsity 8    3rd Varsity 8    Varsity 4   Varsity Lightweight 4
   C - Demi Shanahan    C - Chelsea Tistle    C - Corrine Wong    C - John Houghton   C - Esther Yang
   S - Alex Brown    S - Jordan Shore    S - Michael Griffin    S - Tyler Simpson   S - Andrew Barber
   7 - William Burstein    7 - Jake Presto    7 - Steven Fegan    3 - Toby Buth   3 - Steve Sikora
   6 - Damian Rotarov    6 - Ben Sonnega    6 - Andrew Cronin    2 - Garrett Klumpar   2 - Sahil Desai
   5 - Mitchell Tyson    5 - Colin Darnton    5 - Spencer Price    B - Ben Getz   B - Jordan Sykes
   4 - Alika Ziker    4 - Phil Faris    4 - Nathan Morningstar     
   3 - Ian McGraw    3 - Lake Vitton    3 - Robert MacDonald     
   2 - Ben Rebertus    2 - Lucien Gerondeau    2 - Brad Tongco     
   B - Grey Braybrooks    B - James Garay    B - Max Topel     

   Varsity Pair    Varsity Single A    Varsity Single B     
   S - Levi Godin    William Denman    Alex Coletta     
   B - Lyle Antieau