Media | - The Official Athletic Site of the University of Men's Rowing Team - Men's Rowing


Left to Right: Shore, Rotarov, Braybrooks, Presto, Tistle, Faris, Garay, Gerondeau, Vitton

San Diego Crew Classic

April 2, 2016

San Diego, CA  – On Thursday, March 31, 2016, select members of the University of Michigan Men's Rowing Team travelled to San Diego, California to race in the 43rd annual San Diego Crew Classic. The team sent 28 athletes, including the Varsity 8, the Second Varsity 8, the Freshman 8, and a spare, in the squad's first trip to the regatta since 2014.

Racing opened on Saturday, April 2 with the heat of the Varsity 8. With only eight entries in the invitational event, two heats of four crews were used to determine lane assignments for the eight - lane Grand Final on Sunday. Michigan placed third behind California and Stanford, and ahead of UCSB, giving them Lane 5 for the final. In Sunday's final, racing for the Copley Cup, the crew was in fourth place through the race's early strokes before Dad Vail rival Drexel made a move that put the Dragons ahead of Michigan for good. UM maintained their fifth place standing, moving away from Oregon State, UCSB, and Brock, while sprinting into Stanford and finishing only 1.445 seconds behind the Cardinal. The crew's fifth place finish was the highest finish for a Michigan Varsity 8 in the event since their third place finish in 2011.

In the heat for the Second Varsity 8, the crew placed second, well ahead of third - place finishers UC - San Diego, awarding them Lane 4 for the Grand Final. On Sunday, in their race for the Sharp Cabrillo Cup, the Wolverines were trailing much of the pack early on before an impressive sprint propelled them to a third - place finish, 1.81 seconds ahead of Stanford and nearly five seconds ahead of Oregon State.

In the heat of the Derek Guelker Cup, the Freshman 8 managed an open water victory over ACRA rival Orange Coast College, placing the crew in Lane 3 for their Sunday morning final. In that contest, the crew finished third, well ahead of UC - Santa Clara and the rest of the field.

The crews will rejoin the squad in Ann Arbor, where they will continue training before leaving for the Lubbers Cup on Friday, April 8.



   1st Varsity 8    2nd Varsity 8    Freshman 8     
   C - Demi Shanahan    C - Chelsea Tistle    C - Rose Lewis     
   S - Alex Brown    S - Jordan Shore    S - John Wiegand     
   7 - William Burstein    7 - Damian Rotarov    7 - Greg Miller     
   6 - Mitchell Tyson    6 - Grey Braybrooks    6 - Kevin Hinkle     
   5 - Alika Ziker    5 - Jake Presto    5 - Caleb Brown     
   4 - Ben Sonnega    4 - Phil Faris    4 - Dan Jenkins     
   3 - Ben Rebertus    3 - James Garay    3 - Josh Greenberg     
   2 - Ian McGraw    2 - Lucien Gerondeau    2 - Noah Pavlawk     
   B - Colin Darnton    B - Lake Vitton    B - Nate Miller