Media | - The Official Athletic Site of the University of Men's Rowing Team - Men's Rowing


Lubbers Cup

April 9, 2016

Spring Lake, MI  – On Friday, April 8, the University of Michigan Men's Rowing Team travelled to Spring Lake, Michigan to race at the 21st Annual Lubbers Cup Regatta. The regatta was run in a series of races between either two, three, or four boats, with the total margin of victory within a crew over the course of the weekend ultimately determining the champions.

Racing opened in frigid conditions on Saturday morning with the Varsity 8, who were close with Cincinnati in the early stages of the race before pulling away and winning by 8.5 seconds. In the afternoon, the Varsity 8 defeated Grand Valley by 3.6 seconds, posting a time of 5:40.0. On Sunday morning, the crew had a resounding 14 - second victory over Purdue.

Due to challenging conditions, the course was shortened for the remainder of Saturday racing. The Second Varsity 8 posted a time of 3:56.8 en route to victory in their first race of the day. In the afternoon, the crew defeated Purdue in a close race, beating the Boilermakers by only 2.9 seconds. The Wolverines' final race came on Sunday morning, when they had a whopping 31 - second margin of victory over Minnesota.

The Third Varsity 8's first race pitted them against Purdue's Second Varsity 8, who they defeated by 6.0 seconds. In the afternoon, UM dominated Minnesota, trouncing the Gophers by over 16 seconds. In the crew's final race on Sunday morning, they again defeated the Boilermakers, this time by 12.1 seconds.

The closest race of the weekend came from the Fourth Varsity 8 on Saturday morning, when they defeated Minnesota's Third Varsity 8 by 0.9 seconds. On Saturday afternoon, the crew defeated Purdue's Third Varsity 8 by 11.2 seconds while posting a time of 6:08.1. The Fourth Varsity 8 finished their weekend of racing with another open water victory on Sunday morning, this time against Notre Dame.

The only loss for the Varsity squad came from the Open 4, who placed second in their Saturday morning race, falling to Cincinnati by only 4.4 seconds.

The Freshman squad also had a successful weekend of racing, although all Freshman racing was cancelled on Sunday. The top frosh crew went undefeated, placing first in their Saturday morning race against Notre Dame while posting a time of 4:11.4 in an abbreviated race. On Saturday afternoon, the crew defeated Grand Valley by a resounding 15.8 seconds.

The Second Freshman 8 placed first in their Saturday morning race, defeating Purdue by 12.8 seconds. On Saturday afternoon, the crew defeated Minnesota's Freshman 8 by 2.2 seconds.

The only losses for the Freshman group came from the Third Freshman 8, who placed third in their Saturday morning race, falling to Michigan State's Freshman 8 by 23 seconds. On Saturday afternoon, the crew fell to Purdue's Third Freshman 8 by 6.6 seconds.

Overall, the squad won 16 of 19 races, including undefeated performances from the Varsity 8, Second Varsity 8, Third Varsity 8, Fourth Varsity 8, Freshman 8, and Second Freshman 8. As a result, the group won the Men's Team Points Trophy in their final regatta before the beginning of championship racing season.

The team will return to Ann Arbor before leaving for the MACRA Championship in Indianapolis, Indiana on Saturday, April 30.




   1st Varsity 8    2nd Varsity 8    3rd Varsity 8    4th Varsity 8   Open 4
   C - Demi Shanahan    C - Chelsea Tistle    C - John Houghton    C - Esther Yang   C - Corinne Wong
   S - Alex Brown    S - Jordan Shore    S - Toby Buth    S - Tyler Simpson   S - Andrew Cronin
   7 - William Burstein    7 - Colin Darnton    7 - Andrew Barber    7 - Sahil Desai   3 - Robert MacDonald
   6 - Damian Rotarov    6 - Ben Sonnega    6 - Lucien Gerondeau    6 - William Denman   2 - Nathan Morningstar
   5 - Mitchell Tyson    5 - Jake Presto    5 - Scott Griffith    5 - Steve Fegan   B - Spencer Price
   4 - Alika Ziker    4 - Phil Faris    4 - Mike Griffin    4 - Levi Godin  
   3 - Grey Braybrooks    3 - James Garay    3 - Garrett Klumpar    3 - Lyle Antieau  
   2 - Ben Rebertus    2 - Ben Getz    2 - Steve Sikora    2 - Jordan Sykes  
   B - Ian McGraw    B - Lake Vitton    B - Spencer Price    B - Alex Coletta