Spring Banquet

May 20, 2019

Ann Arbor, MI – On the Sunday of Commencement Weekend in Ann Arbor, the Michigan Men’s Rowing Team, parents, coaches, and alumni gathered in the Michigan League Ballroom for an evening of awards and honoring the graduating seniors.

Freshmen Coach Russ Giacobbe gave a brief overview of the current frosh class, noting their small frames and not particularly fast erg scores caused the class to be significantly underestimated. He presented the following freshmen awards: Caviston Oar - Jeremy Latham, Most Improved Frosh - Luke Santavicca, Zwerdling Award - Jessie Mitchell

After a brief MRA presentation by Board Member Tony Sifuentes, Coach Hartsuff gave a short recap of the Spring Season thus far and handed out the Varsity Squad Awards: Maize 'n Blue Oar - Jamie Pew, Most Improved - Nick Sweet, Schnittman Team Spirit - Gage Smith and John Ragone.

After the Varsity awards, Coach Hartsuff gave a short presentation on each of the graduating seniors and presented them with their oars.

The team graduated 12 athletes this year: Gage Smith, Darran Abkenar, John Wacnik, Greg Miller, Caleb Brown, Rose Lewis, Dan Jenkins, James Zheng, Adam Psarouthakis, Kevin Hinkle, James Pew. (not pictured Jack McCaffrey)

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!